Essex Dogs: A Novel (Essex Dogs Trilogy)

Synopsis

Essex Dogs: July 1346. Ten men land on the beaches of Normandy. They call themselves the Essex Dogs: an unruly platoon of archers and men-at-arms led by a battle-scarred captain whose best days are behind him. The fight for the throne of the largest kingdom in Western Europe has begun.
 
Heading ever deeper into enemy territory toward Crécy, this band of brothers knows they are off to fight a battle that will forge nations, and shape the very fabric of human lives. But first, they must survive a bloody war in which rules are abandoned and chivalry itself is slaughtered.
 
Rooted in historical accuracy and told through an unforgettable cast, Essex Dogs delivers the stark reality of medieval war on the ground – and shines a light on the fighters and ordinary people caught in the storm.

Editorial Reviews

“On the whole a violent and bloody affair . . . [Reconceives] medieval military history as a swashbuckling Hollywood movie.”The New York Times Book Review

“An impeccably researched ‘you are there’ novel with a real-time approach, Jones’ entertaining fiction debut moves episodically from encounter to life-threatening encounter . . . the book hums with black humor. . . An enjoyable romp through the darkest of ages.”Kirkus Reviews  

“Historian Jones makes his fiction debut with a rousing story of the Hundred Years War, the first in a projected trilogy . . . Vivid characterizations and a strain of black humor add to the pointed drama . . . Brutal, graphic, and gory, the battle scenes viscerally hurl the reader into the heat of 14th-century combat. It’s good to know these Dogs will howl again.”Publishers Weekly  

“A high-stakes, immersive war story. . . Highly recommended for fans of Bernard Cornwell or Ken Follett.”Library Journal  

“Historian Jones’s first foray into fiction is battle-bloody, brutal and perfectly pitched. . . . Meticulously researched and vibrantly told. . . It’s a slaughterous, sweary, swaggering debut.”The Daily Mail

“Swashbuckling, blood-spattered, awash with the sex, filth, and violence of the Middle Ages, with a cast of unforgettable characters, written with irrepressible verve and historical accuracy, Dan Jones delivers a compelling novel that thrums with sword swinging energy.”Simon Sebag Montefiore, author of Jerusalem

“Dan Jones is a brilliant storyteller. I’ve loved reading his history for years and now he’s proven to be just as adept at fiction. Few books manage to be as compelling on every level as Essex Dogs: it’s adventure, history, and heart.”Dana Schwartz, author of Anatomy: A Love Story

“Visceral, thrilling, gripping, this is a wild ride into the hearts and minds of men fighting to the death—and each other. The battles that shaped Europe are seen from the point of view of the soldiers and the lives of ordinary people. Searing.”Kate Williams, author of The Pleasures of Men and Becoming Queen Victoria
 
“A new champion has entered the front line of historical fiction to stand shoulder to shoulder with Bernard Cornwell. Dan Jones‘s debut novel Essex Dogs is a full-throated charge onto the medieval battlefield, a rip-roaring adventure full of blood and guts, camaraderie and inventive curses, all based on a satisfying bedrock of historical research.” , author of The Tenth Gift

CLICK HERE TO GET A COPY
Essex Dogs A Novel by Dan Jones
4.2/5
Genre: Fiction
Age Range: Adult
Start Rating: 4.2 stars
Publication Date: 14th February 2023
ISBN13: 978-0593653784

Author: Dan Jones

Dan Jones

Dan Jones

Dan Jones is a prominent historian and bestselling author known for his captivating narratives that bring history to life. Born in 1981, he developed a passion for the past from an early age, which ultimately led him to pursue a career in historical research and writing.

Jones studied history at Pembroke College, University of Cambridge, where he delved into various periods and topics, developing a deep understanding of medieval and early modern history. His academic background equipped him with the necessary tools to analyze historical sources critically and present well-grounded arguments.

With an innate talent for storytelling, Jones has the remarkable ability to make history accessible and engaging to a wide range of readers. He has a knack for finding the human stories behind the events, allowing readers to connect with the past on a personal level. His writing style is characterized by vivid descriptions, rich characterizations, and a seamless blending of facts and narrative.

Jones’s works have garnered widespread acclaim and achieved commercial success. His books, including “The Plantagenets,” “The Templars,” and “The Hollow Crown,” have become international bestsellers, captivating readers with their meticulous research and compelling storytelling. Through his writing, Jones has breathed new life into historical periods, shedding light on lesser-known aspects and debunking popular myths.

In addition to his books, Jones has also made significant contributions to historical television programming. He has hosted and presented several documentaries, including “Britain’s Bloodiest Dynasty,” “Secrets of Great British Castles,” and “The Last Crusade.” His charismatic on-screen presence and expertise have made him a recognizable face in popular history media.

Beyond his writing and broadcasting endeavors, Dan Jones is a regular contributor to historical publications and lectures at universities and institutions worldwide. He is committed to promoting the study of history and making it accessible to a broad audience.

With his passion for history, meticulous research, and gift for storytelling, Dan Jones has established himself as a leading figure in the field of popular history. His works have captivated millions of readers, breathing life into bygone eras and reminding us of the profound relevance of the past in shaping our present.

Sources

  • Wikipedia Contributors. (2023, May 31). Dan Jones (writer). Wikipedia; Wikimedia Foundation. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dan_Jones_(writer)

License & Copyright

The copyright holder has published this content under the following license: Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike. This license lets others remix, tweak, and build upon this content non-commercially, as long as they credit the author and license their new creations under the identical terms. When republishing on the web a hyperlink back to the original content source URL must be included. Please note that content linked from this page may have different licensing terms.

If I have mistakenly misused any of your content, artwork, images or videos, please contact me on historymedieval62@gmail.com and I will take the necessary corrective action.

 

    Home » Book Review » Essex Dogs: A Novel (Essex Dogs Trilogy)
    Join our Medievalism Newsletter Community
    Subscribe on LinkedIn
    0
    Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
    ()
    x
    Verified by MonsterInsights